Laugh It Off

Laugh It Off.JPG

Shake it off! What a popular statement that we probably have heard or said ourselves more times than we can count! The phrase stands the test of time because there is so much truth in it. When bad or unfavorable things happen, we should not carry them, but get rid of them…immediately.

There are a lot of ways to remove things from your life. You can shake them off. Drop them off. Cut them off. Or even burn them off. However, I think the most rewarding and effective way is to, laugh them off. I see it like this: Whatever happened, happened and time will never be reversed. So, I might as well find some humor in it!

Last Friday, I woke up on the wrong side of the bed and I will admit that. I really was just a sitting target for funky frosty flakes and some miffed milk. And being the opportunist that he is, Satan acted quickly and the next thing I knew I had to apologize to my family for irritable demeanor and actions. I assure you I am putting all my business out  there for a good reason…

Fast forward a couple hours later and my 7 year old little sister asks our mom this ironic question: “Mommy, what is strife?” To which my mom replied, “Strife is what Kaylah* was in earlier.” Now, it wasn’t a good feeling to realize that I had succumbed to emotionalism and for that I am deeply sorry. However, laughing at the joke my mother made, severed the ability of Satan to condemn me later. I said my apologies to my family and I made my amends with God…there is no record of it!

Hopefully, there are some things in your life, that you can laugh off and take them as learning experiences. As long as we remain honest in our imperfection and repent for our mistakes, we are still in the clear with God and out of the red with Satan.

A laugh a day, keeps the Accuser away! When was the last time you laughed?

Until Thursday,

vmsignature

* Kaylah and I are the same person. My parents hardly ever call me Vivian and if they do, I’m in an immeasurable amount of trouble!

 

Leave a Reply

